What Time Is It?

JITT, like other scientific time-keeping establishments, uses
Co-ordinated Universal Time (abbreviated UTC) as its time scale (displayed at left). This time, also sometimes known as "GMT" or "Zulu" time, uses a 24 hour clock and is 5 hours "ahead" of Eastern Standard Time (+4 vs. Eastern Daylight Time).

Roll your mouse cursor over (or click on) any portion of the map to display the local time in that area along with information about that time zone.

...or click the button to return to:
Return to Home Page

Eastern Standard Time[Daylight]

Eastern Standard Time [Daylight] is the time observed by the eastern states in the US, including Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia and portions of the states of Florida, Indiana, Kentucky and Tennessee.

Eastern Standard Time [Indiana]

76 of Indiana's 92 counties observe Eastern Standard Time year 'round. 5 counties, 3 near Louisville, KY and 2 near Cincinnati, OH observe Eastern Daylight Time. 11 counties, 6 near Chicago, IL, and 5 near Evansville, IN observe Central Daylight Time.

Time shown is Eastern Standard Time as observed in the state capitol of Indianapolis.

Central Standard Time [Daylight]

Central Standard Time [Daylight] is the time observed by the midwest and plains states in the US, including Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Texas and Wisconsin and portions of the states of Florida, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Tennessee.

Mountain Standard Time [Daylight]

Mountain Standard Time [Daylight] is the time observed by the Rocky Mountain states of Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming and portions of the states of Arizona, Idaho, Kansas, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oregon and South Dakota.

Mountain Standard Time [Arizona]

Except for an area in the northeast corner of the state, Arizona does not observe daylight savings time. That area, the Navajo Nation, participates in DST because it cuts across three other states, Utah, Colorado and New Mexico, that do mark Daylight Time.

The Hopi Nation, completely surrounded by Navajo, does not go on DST, however, which creates a small "island" of Mountain Standard Time in summer.

Pacific Standard Time [Daylight]

Pacific Standard Time [Daylight] is the time observed by the western states of California, Nevada and Washington and portions of the states of Idaho and Oregon.

Hawaii Standard Time

Hawaiian Standard Time is also known as Hawaiian/Aleutian Standard Time since Hawaii shares its time zone with the western-most islands of Alaska far to the north.

The state of Hawaii does not observe daylight saving time.

Alaska Standard Time [Daylight]

Alaska Standard Time encompasses the entire state except for the Aleutian Islands west of Umnak Island.

The state once boasted four time zones, the Pacific, Yukon, Alaska and Bering zones. In 1983 the four time zones were compressed into two as a way to improve business and communication.

Aleutian Standard Time

Aleutian Standard Time includes the settlements of Atka, Adak, Attu and Shemya in the westernmost islands of the Aleutian chain.

The Pribilof Islands to the east observe Alaska Standard Time.

Atlantic Standard Time (Puerto Rico)

Atlantic Standard Time is observed year-round in the U.S. territory of Puerto Rico.

Aleutian Standard Time Alaska Standard Time[Daylight] Hawaii Standard Time Pacific Standard Time[Daylight] Mountain Standard Time['Arizona'] Mountain Standard Time[Daylight] Central Standard Time[Daylight] Eastern Standard Time[Daylight] Atlantic Standard Time[Puerto Rico]